My WIP Shoe Has Been Detoured by Tragedy

11 Mar

Last week the SLU community was rocked by the news that the real life woman behind the Mabb Dilweg avatar had passed away suddenly. Although I did not know her beyond reading her postings on SLU, I did have great respect for her and found her to be a witty intelligent and marvelous person.

The SLU community has pulled together with a yardsale where 100% of the proceeds go to a fund to try and help her SL partner to travel to Australia to be with Mabb’s family during this horrible time.

Second Life Maps | Apocalips Shinano

Accordingly I decided that I needed to contribute so I worked for the better part of 2 days straight on my shoe and created a version that will only be sold at that yard sale and then never again.

Image

I did the theme Mardi Gras for this event because from everything I read about Mabb that was posted by people who knew her far better she was fun loving and perfectly capable of making a party anywhere she was.

Here in Louisiana we mourn until after the funeral. Then we party to celebrate the life well lived. Mabb certainly lived her life well and touched many lives.

RIP Mabb Dilweg

Leave a comment